WHAT IS BIKEPACKING?

Bikepacking combines the fun of riding a lightweight bicycle with the fascination of bike touring. The use of special bag systems keeps the bike agile and capable of riding on all terrains; this lets you leave well-travelled paths and ride over rough terrain during tours. Whether a dirt road, a single trail, or an old service road: bikepacking is pure adventure. And this adventure can often start directly at your doorstep.

As with ultra-light trekking, the equipment is reduced to a minimum. It disappears into bags that are directly fastened to the bike. Bikepackers ride without large racks, which saves weight and makes the bike manageable.

Bikepacking comes from long-distance mountain bike races in the USA, so-called “self-support races”. Because the distances between towns could not be covered in a single day’s stage and external help was not allowed, the racers looked for a way to store their spartan bivouac equipment and provisions on their bikes in a light and safe way without losing all-terrain capability and speed.

Within only a few years, a completely new type of bike touring had developed from these beginnings. Riding with little baggage and off-road opens up whole new possibilities even in densely populated regions of Europe.

Bikepacking means adventure

Bikepacking as a new trend

2 thoughts on “WHAT IS BIKEPACKING?

Comments are closed.

WAS IST BIKEPACKING

Bikepacking verbindet den Fahrspaß eines leichten Rades mit der Faszination von Radreisen. Durch die Verwendung spezieller Taschensysteme bleibt das Rad agil und geländegängig; so kann man auf Touren ausgefahrene Pfade verlassen und auch in unwegsamem Gelände unterwegs sein. Ob Dirtroad, Singletrack oder alter Wirtschaftsweg: Bikepacking ist das pure Abenteuer. Und dieses Abenteuer kann oftmals direkt vor der Haustür beginnen.

Wie beim Ultra Light Trekking wird die Ausrüstung auf ein Minimum reduziert. Sie verschwindet in Taschen, die direkt am Rad befestigt sind. Auf ausladende Gepäckträger verzichten die Bikepacker, das spart Gewicht und das Rad bleibt handlich.

Seinen Ursprung hat das Bikepacking in Langstrecken-Mountainbikerennen in den USA, den sogenannten „self-support Races“: Weil sich die Distanzen zwischen den Städten nicht binnen einer Tagesetappe zurücklegen ließen und fremde Hilfe bei diesem Rennformat nicht vorgesehen war, suchten die Racer nach einem Weg, ihre spartanische Biwak-Ausrüstung und den Proviant leicht und sicher am Rad unterzubringen, ohne an Geländegängigkeit und Tempo zu verlieren.

Aus diesen Anfängen hat sich binnen weniger Jahre eine ganz eigene Art des Radreisens entwickelt. Mit wenig Gepäck und abseits befestigter Straßen unterwegs zu sein, eröffnet selbst in dicht besiedelten Regionen Europas völlig neue Möglichkeiten.

Bikepacking bedeutet Abenteuer

Keine Einschränkungen bei der Routenwahl